What’s New at NWRBMS?

ACRM 98th Annual Conference

Presentation: The Evolution and Current Framework of Technology-Assisted Recovery

For the ACRM 98th Annual Conference, NWRBMS director Barclay T. Stewart, MD Phd (Assistant Professor, University of Washington), Dr. Tam Pham, MD FACS, and Dr. Aaron E. Bunnell, MD will be presenting a virtual symposium.

Sample Newsletter

NEWSLETTER: Summer 2021

Camp Eyabsut "To Rise Above Anything"

Camp Eyabsut is Coming Soon!

Camp Eyabsut is scheduled for July 18-24, 2021 at the Camp Waskowitz facility in North Bend, WA. It will be a fun-filled week for all campers, age 5 to 17, with the theme ‘Eyabsut Meets the Wild West’. 

Journal of Burn Care & Research (Cover)

New Publication by NWRBMS Researchers

“‘Living Well’ After Burn Injury: Using Case Reports to Illustrate Significant Contributions From the Burn Model System Research Program” has recently been published in hard copy by the Journal of Burn Care Research.

Shelly Wiechman, PhD, ABPP; UW Medicine Dept of Rehabilitation Medicine

Shelley Wiechman recipient of Curtis P. Artz Distinguished Service Award

Shelley Wiechman, PhD, ABPP, Associate Professor at UW Medicine Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, has received the Curtis P. Artz Distinguished Service Award from American Burn Association.

Eric's Heroes: Ollie's Family, mother holding baby

VIDEO: Eric’s Heroes: Ollie’s Family

View this inspiring video on a family well known to the UW Burn Center, the Strode family.

Sample Newsletter

NEWSLETTER: Spring 2021

American Burn Association 53rd Annual Meeting Virtual 2021 logo

Burn Model System Researchers to Present at the American Burn Association (ABA) 53rd Annual Meeting

A host of Burn Model System researchers will present at the 53rd Annual American Burn Association Meeting (ABA2021), April 7-9.  For more information please visit the Annual Meeting Site

For the full list of speakers, please visit  MSKTC’s Speaker Info post.

American Nurses Association

2021 AONL National Manager Fellows!

Congratulations to Tara Lerew, RN, and Melvin Tam, RN, for being selected as part of the 2021 American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) National Manager Fellows!

Sample Newsletter

NEWSLETTER: Winter 2021

VIDEO: Sexuality and Intimacy After Burn Injury

A new video series to help burn survivors navigate sexuality and intimacy after their burn injury is now available.

American Nurses Association

ANA’s Membership Assembly Re-Elects Ernest Grant as National President

Our friend and nurse colleague, Ernest Grant, has been re-elected as the American Nurses Association’s National President. Dr. Grant has served on the American Burn Association board and is a retired burn nurse and outreach coordinator.

Kimberly Calman McMurray

NWFR Welcomes Interim Fire Commissioner

The North Whatcom Fire and Rescue Board of Fire Commissioners is pleased to welcome Kimberly Calman-McMurray as the newly appointed Commissioner position #5.

Sample Newsletter


American Nurses Association

One Small Step for Nursing; One Giant Leap for Burn Care

Please join us and the NW Regional Burn Model System in celebrating the American Nurses Association’s recognition of burn nursing as a specialty!

Sample Newsletter

NEWSLETTER: Summer 2020

VIDEO: Child Burn Victims Rise Above the Scars

Recovering from a burn injury isn’t just physical. Your emotional health needs healing, too. That’s what Camp Eyabsut aims to do for young burn survivors, by providing them with an experience where they can just be kids.

Sample Newsletter

NEWSLETTER: Spring 2020

Gretchen Carrougher 2015

Award Recipients 2020 – American Burn Association

Gretchen Carrougher MN, RN is the 2020 recipient of the American Burn Association Special Achievement Award for her dedication to those impacted by burn injury, burn nursing and the American Burn Association. Gretchen has been the NWRBMS project coordinator since 2000. Congratulations Gretchen on this recognition!

9th Annual International State of the Science Meeting - Nicole Gibran, MD speaking on the longterm outcomes after burns - and why that matters

9th Annual International State of the Science Meeting

Mitigating the Impact of Blast-Related Burn Injuries (organized by the Rand Corporation). A powerhouse group of speakers to include Dr. Gibran, Dr. Eileen Burger (HMC Trauma), Dr. Amanda Reichard (NIDILRR) and Dr. Colleen Ryan (BHBIMS).